Chasing Invisible by Karen Pokras Toz

Chasing Invisible

Chasing Invisible
by Karen Pokras Toz
Anchor Group Publishing
Published Date: June 11, 2013
Adult Contemporary, Women’s Fiction
Ebook, 304 pages

Summary:

Could you handle life in the spotlight?

Julia Alexander is a quiet girl from a small town. Content to spend her days with her small group of friends and a pile of books, Julia thinks her future is set. When she unexpectedly meets Chase, a fellow college student and budding musician, she is unaware of just how drastically things are about to change.

Suddenly thrown into the limelight, her life is no longer her own. Relentlessly followed by the paparazzi, Julia is forced to make tough decisions about fame, love, family, and relationships. But just how much will Julia have to sacrifice to become invisible…

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Connect With the Author:

Review:
Julie and Chase meet. Love blooms. Fame follows. Forget the baby carriage…here comes the paparazzi!

Not everyone wants or enjoys the life of fame and fortune.

I think that overall this was a good read. I did like to see the other side of life, the life of fame that’s unwanted (by the family members). I’m glad that Julia pushed Chase to follow his dreams (which is what everyone should do) but she didn’t consider the consequences or how it would affect them as a couple. She really didn’t seem to consider how this was affecting Chase at all. On the other hand I sympathize with her because I value my privacy and time alone (I’m a book worm also and hate the attention). Yet I can’t help but wish she would have sucked it up, realized that the paparazzi were not going to stop, and led a semi-normal life.

Me, me, me. I, I, I. At what point do you stop “caring” about everyone else, and start taking care of yourself? Or is it the other way around?

I spent the majority of the book alternating between wanting to be Julie’s friend and help her through and just slapping the mess out of her. She’s a nice person but she’s really selfish, and this book was all about how it affected her. I shouldn’t really say anything because I would probably do exactly what she did.Besides the sweet, quiet but annoying Julie driving me insane (I may have yelled at my Kindle a few times), I could not get past the dates and timelines given at the beginning of chapters. They were off, and yes, it’s a little thing, but I was really pulled into caring how long she was going through her drama.I would still recommend this book just because of the writing. Karen Pokras Toz has published a few children’s novels, but don’t let that fool you. She does adult writing very well. It keeps pulling you in even though you’re tired of all those camera flashes.

Kids are cute, but more adult books are needed please!

Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Buy Links:
Leave a Reply

