Review: Flirting with Chaos (Crazy in Love #1) by Kenya Wright

Flirting with Chaos Blog Tour Banner


Flirting With Chaos by Kenya WrightTitle:
Flirting with Chaos (Crazy in Love #1)
Author: Kenya Wright
Published: November 19th, 2013
Publisher: Omnific Publishing
Page Count: 324 pages
Genre: New Adult, Rock Star Erotic, Romance
Content Warning: Mild sexual content and non-gratuitous profanity
Recommended Age: 18+

Synopsis:

Can two mentally unstable best friends have sex and not drown in chaos?

Rain’s been washing blood off her hands for far too long. After five years, she accepts the fact that she”s still a little crazy but feels as if she’s finally gotten it all under control.

Parties, drugs, and sex flood Jude’s life, and music and scandal run through his veins. He’s the son of a rock god and grandson of a jazz legend. It’s no surprise that his own star is on the rise, and with so many groupies vying for his attention, his childhood best friend Rain keeps him anchored in reality.

She’s nothing like him–an art student with no idea of her own beauty, who would rather curl up with a sci-fi novel than party in the spotlight. Everything changes when she asks him for a unique favor: she wants him to take her virginity. He’s more than willing to oblige, but things get complicated when his pervy father gets involved. Meanwhile, intense feelings rise to the surface, ones neither Rain nor Jude are prepared to deal with.

If their relationship has any chance for survival, she must finally confront the demons of her past, and he must face the addictions of the present. When the smoke clears, will they find that sex between best friends was a good idea, or will they discover they had been Flirting With Chaos the entire time?
Find on Goodreads

Buy Links:
Amazon II Amazon UK II Barnes & Noble

Excerpt:

Everyone jumped and swayed fast, pumped and wound their bodies around the dance floor. Jude and I continued rocking into each other. We were entangled into the moment—the song, the feel of our bodies, the heat radiating between us, our scents mingling together, and the mounting of an orgasm that sparked at my center and rose higher and higher, just yearning to detonate into sensual delight.


About the Author:
Kenya WrightKenya Wright always knew she would be famous since the ripe old age of six when she sang the Michael Jackson thriller song in her bathroom mirror. She has tried her hand at many things from enlisting in the Navy for six years as a Persian-Farsi linguist to being a nude model at an art university.

However, writing has been the only constant love in her life. Will she succeed? Of course.
For she has been coined The Urban Fantasy Queen, the Super Iconic Writer of this Age, The Lyrical Genius of Our Generation. Granted, these are all terms coined by her, within the private walls of her bathroom as she still sings the Michael Jackson thriller song.

Kenya Wright currently resides in Miami with her three amazing, overactive children, a supportive, gorgeous husband, and three cool black cats that refuse to stop sleeping on Kenya’s head at night.

Connect with the Author:
Website II Facebook II Twitter II Youtube II Goodreads II Amazon


Review:

The cover of Flirting with Chaos is interesting and the blurb just spells out disaster. I’m glad I didn’t pass this novel by. I dove into this book expecting a typical story:
• friends hook up
• fight over something inconsequential
• can’t resolve their differences for a while
• then either (A) work it out and hook up for real, (B) work it out and stay friends, or (C) avoid each other like the plague.

What I got was…well, I can’t tell you what I got because that would be giving away vital information. What I can tell you is when I started reading, other people were on their way to bed and when I finally did tear myself away, it was because the sun was in my eyes. There’s a bit of extra in this story and that made it a serious page turner.

It started to get confusing towards the middle and it had me feeling like I was either missing something or starting to lose my mind. But at that point I was invested and as the journey continued, I realized that the confusion was a necessary evil.

“You’re so not a virgin.” He fluttered his long eyelashes. “I could be.”

Oh, also, Jude was an utter asshole the entire book, but I’m willing to blame that on his rock star lifestyle. And his relationship with his dad. But mostly his dad. I overlooked all that because I could see the soft, squishy side to Jude.

“You’re like the bad guy on a ‘don’t do drugs’ commercial.”

Rain was awesome even through all her mess. She handled that mess like a boss. I would have offered up my virginity, then had myself committed. But I would have kept T-Bone, he’s good with a one-liner.

Looks like I ended up blabbing more than I meant to. Oh well. It was worth it.

According to Kenya’s website, this will be a two book series, with the second book being named Courting Chaos. If the second book is as crazy as this one, I will be first in line to pick it up.

Star-Rating-4-half

Review Copy Courtesy Of: Omnific Publishing, at no cost in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

