Review: Torn from You (Tear Asunder, #1) by Nashoda Rose

Torn from You by Nashoda RoseTitle: Torn from You (Tear Asunder, #1)
Author: Nashoda Rose
Published: December 20th, 2013
Publisher: Cindy Paterson
Page Count: 330 pages
Genre: Adult, Romance
Content Warning: Sexual content, Trigger warning: rape and violence
Recommended Age: 18+

Synopsis:

Love is like an avalanche. It hits hard, fast and without mercy.

At least it did for me when Sculpt, the lead singer of the rock band Tear Asunder knocked me off my feet. Literally, because he’s also a fighter, illegally of course, and he taught me how to fight. He also taught me how to love and I fell hard for him. I mean the guy could do sweet, when he wasn’t doing bossy, and I like sweet.

Then it all shattered.

Kidnapped.
Starved.
Beaten.
I was alone and fighting to survive.
When I heard Sculpt’s voice, I thought he was there to save me.

I was wrong.

(It is highly recommended to read “With You” the novella first).

*Warning: This book contains some disturbing situations, strong language and sexual content. Over 18 years.

This is a love story with some dark elements. Dark contemporary romance. No cliffhanger and next in the Tear Asunder series is Ream’s story (the band’s lead guitarist).

Find on Goodreads

Buy Links:
Amazon II Amazon UK II Barnes & Noble II Smashwords


About the Author:
Nashoda RoseNashoda Rose lives in Toronto with her assortment of pets. She writes contemporary (NA) romance with a splash of darkness, or maybe it’s a tidal wave. Her novella “With You” is the first in the Tear Asunder series, followed by the novel “Torn from You”.

When she isn’t writing, she can be found sitting in a field reading with her dog at her side while her horses graze nearby. She loves interacting with her readers on Facebook and chatting about her addiction—books.

Connect with the Author:
Website II Facebook II Twitter II GoodReads II Amazon Author Page


Review:
My emotions were all over the place with this book. I was shocked, appalled, discombobulated, hurt, pissed, shocked again, somewhat relieved, and then entirely relieved.

Just so you know, I read With You, which gives backstory on Emily and Sculpt, first and couldn’t stop myself from running headlong into the wall of horror/love that is Torn from You.

This starts off with Emily being kidnapped to become a sex slave, and Sculpt shows up to rescue her! And then it’s all daisies and roses and they have a HEA! But really Emily has to submit to Sculpt, the man she fell in love with, who may or may not actually love her, or suffer the horrible consequences.

Emily is a feisty woman and this ride does not go as smoothly as hoped. This is where I stop talking about the ride because there is a twist that you have to read for yourself.

My feelings:

  • I wanted to hate Sculpt more than I did, but I liked him so much that I just couldn’t bring myself to do it.
  • The secondary characters were written just as amazingly as the primary ones.
  • I wanted to know more about Kai. He seemed like the sexy, mysterious guy you just wanted to get to know more about. Or the silently deranged guy that you wanted to jab in the eye with a hot poker. Hopefully we’ll find out in later books.
  • I know without a doubt that I did want to stab Raul in the eye with that poker. Then in the other eye. Then possibly up the ass.
  • Alfonzo was terrifying evil and I would never want to meet him in real life, unless I had a bat or some other blunt instrument. His punishment would be long and extremely horrible.
  • I gave this an extra half star on account of the emotional turmoil I suffered on behalf of Emily.

Torn from You does not have a cliffhanger, so you could stop here. But why would you want to when Ream’s story is coming up next!


Star-Rating-4-half

Review Copy Courtesy Of: Nashoda Rose via Goodreads, in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

