Hobbying the Internet

Has anyone noticed that a standard question when you meet someone new is “What do you do in your free time/to relax?” aka “So, what you be doing?” I’ve always thought my answer was lame. “Oh, nothing really. Read, hang with friends, surf the net.” Then I imagine the person is thinking, “Wow, she spends most of her free time on the internet. Not out doing something more interesting and meeting people.” But really, is my answer all that bad. Like everything, it depends on what you’re doing and if you’re enjoying it.

Yes, I spend quite a bit of time in the virtual world.
I love computers. I love the vast amount of information available online. I love reading random facts, search for whatever pops into my head, find the amazing things that people create, and teach myself something new, whether it’s useful or not.

I am going to point out here that just because someone else thinks that something is not useful/is a waste of time, doesn’t mean they’re correct. It’s just not useful to them. I, on the other hand, found it interesting enough to learn, which makes it useful to me.

FYI: These people are called ‘haters’. You’ll meet a shit ton of them in your life. Just keep doing you.

Not that I’m extremely up to date, but I think I drool over electronics and information the way my brother drools over comics and games. Don’t even get me started on that. Just. Don’t.

No, this does not make me a hermit.
The funny thing is I love to meet new people. I like to know what people like and how they feel over things they love. I just don’t find a lot of things worthwhile that others do. And many people don’t find what I’m interested in worthwhile. And that’s alright. Not everyone’s going to get along, which means that we just move along. And I sit and read a book or Google something until it’s time for me to leave.

I’m not about who’s fighting who on Facebook, someone Instagrammed their dinner (which is sometimes helpful when I’m in a rut), and what Kanye and the Kardashian did. I don’t care enough to have a real conversation about that. I like to know how things work, what books people like to read, where they work and why they like it, what their best vacay was, why the clouds are fluffy, what that creepy fish is at the bottom of the ocean, why space is expanding and what new Earth-like planet was found. I do have a healthy (try to read that with a straight face) obsession with Tumblr though. 😀 Don’t judge.

I’m surprised I’m not hella late on hearing about the Nicki Minaj vs. Miley thing. Although if I had to explain to someone what happened there, I’d face plant on the road of confusion.

Yes, I still like to spend time alone (or be alone in a crowded room), but still not in hermit territory.
Like I said earlier, I love to meet new people. But I get social overload also. I need to spend time by myself. The internet gives me to option to be alone, while still interacting with people. It gives me more control of the amount of contact I have without completely shutting myself off from the world like I would want to.

If you do find me interesting, talk to me. If you don’t, talk to me anyway. I honestly won’t turn anyone away, even if you do want to talk about Miley.

2 thoughts on “Hobbying the Internet

  1. Lol, I do the same thing. I never know what to say to people because I’m interested in learning all kinds of stuff. It’s difficult to narrow it down, to give a good answer, or at least something people will understand. Most of the time, I have little in common with the people in my home town.

    Like

    • I apologize for my tardy response. Apparently I’m not as on top of things as I’d like to trick myself into believing.

      Thanks for letting me know I’m not alone in my quest to get people to stop looking funny when I say I like to learn! It is difficult to narrow down, but I figure if people don’t like it, they’re not going to last long around me anyway. Especially, if when I go off on a tangent, they criticize rather than just shaking their head and playing along.

      Next time someone tells me I’m weird for not doing XYZ, I think I’m going to end the argument with “Well, if we all liked the same things, Earth would be a pretty dull place.” 😀

      Hope to see you around!
      ~ Jennifer

      Like

Leave a Reply

