Review: Waiting for the Flood by Alexis Hall

Waiting for the Flood
Waiting for the Flood by Alexis Hall
Publisher: Riptide Publishing
Release Date: February 21, 2015
Genre: Romance, Contemporary

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Blurb:
People come as well as go.

Twelve years ago, Edwin Tully came to Oxford and fell in love with a boy named Marius. He was brilliant. An artist. It was going to be forever.

Two years ago, it ended.

Now Edwin lives alone in the house they used to share. He tends to damaged books and faded memories, trying to a build a future from the fragments of the past.

Then the weather turns, and the river spills into Edwin’s quiet world, bringing with it Adam Dacre from the Environment Agency. An unlikely knight, this stranger with roughened hands and worn wellingtons, but he offers Edwin the hope of something he thought he would never have again.

As the two men grow closer in their struggle against the rising waters, Edwin learns he can’t protect himself from everything—and sometimes he doesn’t need to try.

Musings:
Blurb (my rendition): Flooding brings odd bits and bobs together. When it clears out, it washes everything clean.

This is my second book by this author. I loved the first so much, I figured “why not?” I thought it was cute, but at the same time I was waiting for it to end. I really like the premise of Edwin having a stutter and his struggle with people listening to him. It’s a real struggle because no one wants to slow down enough to actually listen. But most of this felt like an English lesson, although the part of the lesson where the MC’s were actually talking to each other about etymology was cool. I was wanting more: more Edwin and Adam, more story, more more?

I don’t really have anything against the story. I just really hate grammar lessons. I don’t remember half of what order words are supposed to go in and if you can understand me, then I believe I’ve done my job.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

