Love on the Line

Knight kneeling with a sword

© 2015 Jennifer Currie

*Disclaimer: Please remember, this fictional story is still a work in progress and has not been edited. Please forgive any mistakes or mistypes…hopefully they’re minor.

I swung my sword, getting lucky and drawing blood from the lord. I was clumsy compared to my opponent, who had been training since birth. It wasn’t the weight of the sword that’s was the problem. It was the fact that I was a farmer and not used to it. I’d only wielded my tools to nurture and grow food, never to harm or cut down another person. So throwing it around like a hoe or shovel was not going to help.

The blacksmith had graciously offered me a sword for my life or death battle. He had plenty lying around and I’m not sure if he wanted me to succeed or just to see some entertainment. From what little I noticed before the fight started, it was a beautiful weapon. Again, that little detail wouldn’t help. I was more worried about whether I’d be able to stomach taking a life, and believe me, I am trying my damnedest to take this one. There’s more than just my future at stake. The life of my lover, Edwin, is also forfeit if I die.

Blocking is the easy part. Really, the only goal there is to not get stabbed. It’s the striking my opponent I’m struggling with. Seems that every time I go to move in, I unwittingly leave myself open, forcing me to once again defend my vital parts. For a moment I thought about giving up. Maybe we shouldn’t want to live in a world where we are harassed due to who we love. But then, the world turning on without Edwin in it would be a tragedy of its own. With that thought, I surged forward, determined to see that Edwin live a long, happy life.

Leave a Reply

