Review: The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

The Good Girl
The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
Publisher: Harlequin MIRA
Release Date: July 29, 2014
Genre: Thriller, Mystery, Contemporary, Romance, Drama

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Blurb:
“I’ve been following her for the past few days. I know where she buys her groceries, where she works. I don’t know the color of her eyes or what they look like when she’s scared. But I will.”

One night, Mia Dennett enters a bar to meet her on-again, off-again boyfriend. But when he doesn’t show, she unwisely leaves with an enigmatic stranger. At first Colin Thatcher seems like a safe one-night stand. But following Colin home will turn out to be the worst mistake of Mia’s life.

When Colin decides to hide Mia in a secluded cabin in rural Minnesota instead of delivering her to his employers, Mia’s mother, Eve, and detective Gabe Hoffman will stop at nothing to find them. But no one could have predicted the emotional entanglements that eventually cause this family’s world to shatter.

An addictively suspenseful and tautly written thriller, The Good Girl is a propulsive debut that reveals how even in the perfect family, nothing is as it seems.

Musings:
Alright, strap in and brace yourselves. Whatever you do, don’t fall out the boat!!! There’s a negative review coming up.

I know, I know. Usually I’m gushing over how awesome the characters or how I’ll stalk the writer, and all my negative comments stay in the little box under the seat. Well, I do get books that I want to drown. I just don’t mention them. I hate marking books low because it takes a chunk out the author to put themselves out there to be criticized. I try and see where they were coming from when they wrote it. Sometimes we just don’t connect and I can’t find the fantasy land they started out from.

So starting here and moving forward, I’ll try and be nice, but no promises.

I feel like I need to add in an additional disclaimer with this review:
There are quite a few people out there who loved this book. So I’m marking this down as a “it was me, not you” situation.

I hated this book, even with the twist. I was going to wait a little longer before writing this to see what that light at the end of the tunnel was, but I swear I hear water coming. Maybe it’s one of those angler fish trying to lure me in and eat me.

First, there was not one likable character in the bunch. I could almost deal with Eve if I had to, but I would have happily set fire to Gabe (I’m sure he’s racist and thinks more of himself than he needs to), the father (he’s something that can’t be said in polite company) and the sister (takes after the father). Colin, I would just ignore, SPOILER: although I was upset about what happened to him. He almost had my sympathy. Yes, they all had their own issues, but everyone was so damn self absorbed and uppity that it made me want to hurl.

B.) I was done way before I made it to the twist. I thought maybe Kubica should have led with that, but that would have landed this book on my DNF shelf. Maybe if I had liked the characters more, maybe if it was shorter…

The writing style took me a minute to get used to but after that, it moved pretty smoothly. I did like that alternate points of view, especially since I didn’t have to stay in one person’s head too long. The mom’s POV was the most upbeat. She actually tried to stay positive and help her daughter out.

I think I just ran out of steam talking about the characters. I was really excited to read it, but it was like trudging through the mud trying to find the treasure and then it turned out to only be a copper coin.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

