At The Top

*Disclaimer: Please remember, this fictional story is still a work in progress and has not been edited. Please forgive any mistakes or mistypes…hopefully they’re minor.

The instructions said to meet her here at noon. That was ten minutes ago. Cold wind blew through the windows and I could no longer ignore my trembling. I could however pretend all of the trembling was from the cold. Not from the rumors that sent everyone else running. Not from the fear that I was just waiting for my death. But here I would stand just a little longer. I would go to the ends of the earth for her.

“Janine…” My name, almost lost in the sound of the wind, floated down from the top of the steps. I froze, hope lighting inside of me. My name came again, in singsong. I didn’t care that it wasn’t possible. The rumors were true, yet I rushed toward the sound of that lovely voice. Towards Rachel. Towards…

Leave a Reply

