Pre-release Review: Against the Rules (Boundaries #2) by A.R. Barley

Against the Rules
Against the Rules by A.R. Barley
Boundaries #2
Publisher: Carina Press
Expected Release Date: June 6, 2016
Genre: College, Contemporary, Romance, BDSM

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Blub:
Kelly O’Connell’s out of control

An RA at Halton University, he spends his off nights at a club, hoping to find what he’s looking for in rough sex with strangers.

Until one night the play gets a little too rough. An isolated room, a dangerous situation…and an unexpected rescue.

Ian Rankin knows what Kelly wants—a true Dom, someone who will protect him instead of using him, someone who can take him to the edge without pushing him into unsafe territory.

Ian knows just what Kelly needs, and he’s the only man who can give it to him.

There’s only one problem: Kelly is a student, and Ian is a teacher.

Buy Links: Carina PressAmazon

Musings:

Against the Rules picks up pretty much where Out of Bounds left off. Kelly is floundering due to some things that happened and a rough night leads to the white knight, Ian, saving his skin. Ian has his own hangups about getting into a relationship but the wind came through and ripped them out of his mind. Life happened, the world kept spinning and I’m a happy individual.

I liked this as a follow up to Out of Bounds and being able to see what happened to Kelly. He needed his own brand of TLC but any rough kink will do in a pinch. At first, he seemed like a pushover but I will say, he is a hellava resident adviser and won’t take no mess there! Then after getting into his head a little, I realized he’s not a pushover, it’s just his way of dealing when time won’t allow him to deal. Me and Kelly came to an understanding in the end.

I don’t know if Ian dating a student was supposed to be a big deal. I mean, yeah, I can see it being inappropriate in probably the majority of situations, but in this case I didn’t see nothing wrong. With a little bump and grind. Anyhoo, it seemed that Ian thought about it for a whole 3 seconds before saying ‘fuck it, I want him’. The major hangup actually seemed to come from what happened in his past. And even that I was thinking wasn’t so horrible because there were circumstances. But what I think is not a big deal can end someone else’s world. So I rolled with Ian. And he came through for me.

Out of Bounds was a tad bit higher on my scale, but I liked Jesse more. However, if Ian swung my way, I surely would not turn him back. 🙂

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

