Review: Secrets of Neverwood (Secrets of Neverwood #1-3) by Libby Drew, Diana Copland, G.B. Lindsey

Secrets of Neverwood
Secrets of Neverwood by Libby Drew
Publisher: Carina Press
Published Date: June 30, 2014
Genre: Paranormal, Contemporary, Romance

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Three foster brothers are called home to Neverwood, the stately Pacific Northwest mansion of their youth. They have nothing in common but a promise to Audrey, the woman they all called mother—that upon her death, they would restore the house and preserve it as a home for troubled boys.

But going home is never easy.

Cal struggles to recover from past heartbreak, while Danny fears his mistakes are too big to overcome. Devon believes he may never break down the barriers that separate him from honest emotion.

On the path to brotherhood, they discover the old mansion holds more than dusty furniture and secret passageways. Audrey’s spirit still walks its halls, intent on guiding “her boys” toward true love, and an old mystery stirs up a new danger—one that could cost the men far more than just the house.


The three novels in this anthology have a lightly paranormal setting, with differing amounts of ghostly interaction in each book. Overall, it was a very enjoyable read.

Three foster brothers come home after inheriting a group home from their foster mom. They each have their problems, dealing with issues within themselves and their relationships. The fact they they were foster kids, gives them insight into how to help the current children that need them. They only need to get past their walls and tap into their special gifts. Each novel is the story of a individual foster son and their journey to love.

One Door Closes ~ 3 stars ~ Calvin and Will ranked lowest out of the stories because it felt the weakest. There wasn’t much character development because they were a reunited couple. So there wasn’t much room to become connected with them and their issues. But there was a good introduction to the plot with the foster home, which helped carry this book and made me want to continue with the series.

The Growing Season ~ 5 stars ~ I liked this story best out of the three. Danny was proud and defiant and I loved seeing the relationship blossom between him and Sam. This story was the most emotional and it was easier to connect with the main characters. Writing wise, it was the strongest out of the three.

The Lost Year ~ 4 stars ~ A great ending to the Secrets of Neverwood series. This story ranked #2 out of the three because again, there was more emotion involved. It was a little disjointed in some places between the two guys and seemed like Devon didn’t really wan to be in the story. I wondered about Devon being too hard to open up, but he and Nicholas, as well as Robbie, got the happy ending the deserved.

While it was stated that the stories could be read alone, I would strongly advise against it. There are things happening throughout the books that I feel would throw the reader off if they started out of order.

*ARC provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s