Review: Dead Beautiful (Dead Beautiful #1) by Yvonne Woon

Dead Beautiful
Dead Beautiful by Yvonne Woon
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Published Date: September 21, 2010
Genre: Paranormal, Young Adult, Romance

My rating: 4 of 5 stars (3.5 stars)

Blub:
On the morning of her sixteenth birthday, Renée Winters was still an ordinary girl. She spent her summers at the beach, had the perfect best friend, and had just started dating the cutest guy at school. No one she’d ever known had died. But all that changes when she finds her parents dead in the Redwood Forest, in what appears to be a strange double murder.

After the funeral Renée’s wealthy grandfather sends her to Gottfried Academy, a remote and mysterious boarding school in Maine, where she finds herself studying subjects like Philosophy, Latin, and the “Crude Sciences.”

It’s there that she meets Dante Berlin, a handsome and elusive boy to whom she feels inexplicably drawn. As they grow closer, unexplainable things begin to happen, but Renée can’t stop herself from falling in love. It’s only when she discovers a dark tragedy in Gottfried’s past that she begins to wonder if the Academy is everything it seems.

Little does she know, Dante is the one hiding a dangerous secret, one that has him fearing for her life.

Dead Beautiful is both a compelling romance and thought-provoking read, bringing shocking new meaning to life, death, love, and the nature of the soul.

Musings:

I would have sworn I was reading Twilight again, without the vampires, but with about the same amount of teenage, I know you’re weird but I don’t know how, drama. Oh, and the sparkling!

I was intrigued enough by Dante and his mysteriousness, and by Gotfried school in general, to want to know what was going. The teachers were my kind of weird, but I just know I wouldn’t have made it long without getting in trouble. Like every other day kind of trouble. It was a boarding school, so yeah there are rules, but damn! The way Renee was explaining it, I wouldn’t be surprised if you got in trouble for breathing in twice before exhaling. But I digress.

I don’t know if I’m interested enough to read the rest of the series, but this little bit of it was entertaining.

That’s all y’all get now. To say anything else would be to spoil the entire book. Maybe I’ll spoil another book for you on another day, but today, WYSIWYG!

*ARC provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

