Release Day Review: Half by Eli Lang

Half
Half by Eli Lang
Publisher: Riptide Publishing
Release Date: February 13, 2016
Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, M/M

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Blub:
Living between worlds has never been comfortable, but it’s where I’ve always fit: between human and fey, illness and health, magic and reality.

I’ve spent the last six years looking for a cure for the nameless sickness eating me up. If I believed there was one out there, I would keep searching. But there isn’t, so I’ve come back home, where my past and present tangle. Come home to live . . . and to die.

But my father insists I meet Kin. He’s a healer, and determined to help, even though I’m not so hopeful anymore. But Kin isn’t what I expected, in any way. He sees me, not my illness. He reminds me of what it’s like to be alive. And I can’t help falling for him, even though I know it isn’t fair to either of us.

Kin thinks he has the cure I’ve been looking for, but it’s a cure that will change everything: me, my life, my heart. If I refuse, I could lose Kin. But if I take it, I might lose myself.

Buy Links: Riptide Publishing

Musings:

I want to give this 3 stars. But I also want to give it 5 stars.

There was a fair amount of world building and paranormal activity to satisfy me. There were more than enough “stop making me feel” scenes. My hesitation comes from the fact that there were too many points where I stopped to wonder what is the point? It seemed wordy, overlong and like I was spinning my wheels. Yet I couldn’t stop reading. I had to know where this train was going.

I think I figured it out at the end. Once I read the last page, I knew I’d gotten enough out of this to make it a worthwhile read.

ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

